THEVARS is a contemporary dance theatre and film ensemble centred around the work of Canadian choreographer Gabreïl Spiegelschrift.

Some of the projects contain material and subject matter that are intended for mature audiences.
- Viewer discretion is advised - will place a "cookie" in your browser cache to remember your choice in the future. This cookie is not tracked and you can remove it at any time.

Tabulæ Anatomicæ Sex
  • <p>Tabulæ Anatomicæ Sex </p>
  • <p>Tabulæ Anatomicæ Sex</p>
  • <p>Tabulæ Anatomicæ Sex</p>
  • <p>Tabulæ Anatomicæ Sex</p>
  • <p>Tabulæ Anatomicæ Sex</p>
  • <p>Tabulæ Anatomicæ Sex</p>
  • <p>Tabulæ Anatomicæ Sex</p>

Tabulæ Anatomicæ Sex - 1995

a film by Justin Stephenson

Gabreïl Spiegelschrift originally intended this to be a film project inspired by the Arthurian Chronicals, however, due to logistics, the idea was changed last minute to follow a continuation of unrealised ideas from the ‘Urban Citations/Public Executions’. In the hands of filmmaker Justin Stephenson, this third collaboration became the award winning spectacle of experimental video media, dance and music tribute to the work of 16th century anatomist Andreas Vesalius.

The dancefilm was the first project for the acclaimed musical group Rhea's Obsession, who would later contribute the music for the also featured duet that would become ‘Luft und Erde’ (1994), with Nichole LaRochelle. Other performers include dancers Renée LaRochelle and the fabulous Sonya Biernath.

technical details

  • director
    Justin Stephenson
  • producer
    Justin Stephenson, G. Spiegelschrift
  • created and choreographed by
    Gabreïl Spiegelschrift
  • dance developed and performed with
    Sonya Biernath, Nichole LaRochelle, Renée LaRochelle
  • composer
    Jim Field
  • music
    Jim Field

    Jeff Burke: bassoon, penny whistle
    Chris Cawthray: percussion
    Jim Field: guitars, bass
    Sue Hutton: vocals
    Mitch Krol: cello
    Aaron Michelsen: midi sequencing
    Patrick Wooldrige: drums

    music produced and engineered by:
    Aaron Michelsen

    All songs written by Jim Filed of Rhea's Obsession except "Cun Lacoudhir" by Sue Hutton also of Rhea's Obsession
  • note
    beta sp; black and white/colour
  • thanks & dedications
    latin voices:
    Karl Moritz, Jackie Maidlow

    Jane Murray

    camera assistant:
    Esther Snow

    funding provided in parts by:
    Lotteries Yukon through the Yukon Arts Branch

    thank you:
    Robin Armour, Phil Bergerson, Sonya Biernath, Jeff Burke, Chris Cawthray, Graham Clark, David Eddie, Brad Fortner, Mitch Krol, Nichole LaRochelle, Renée LaRochelle, Jackie Maidlow, Karl Moritz, Jane Murray, Paul Nieman, Laurel Perry, Toni Thompson, John Watson, Patrick Wooldrige, X-it Studios

    special thanks:
    Jim Field, Sue Hutton, Emil Kolopar, Jurgen Lutz, Aaron Michelsen, Esther Snow, Gabreïl Spiegelschrift, Shawn Stephenson and Andreas Vesalius
  • premiere
    1995-02-01 Toronto, Canada
  • duration
    23 mins.

photo Justin Stephenson

related projects